Dr. Lisa Mauer and Dr. Bruce Hamaker recieve IFT awards

Published: July 12, 2014

Dr. Bruce Hamaker, Distinguished Professor, Roy Whistler Chair, and Director of Whistler Center for Carbohydrate Research has been elected a Fellow in the Institute of Food Technologists. The recognition is given to a select group of distinguished scientists whose work has significantly impacted food science and/or the food industry. Bruce has been a research leader in carbohydrate chemistry, functionality, and its relation to health for many years.

Dr. Lisa Mauer, Whistler Center faculty member has received the 2014 Institute of Food Technologists Marcel Loncin Research Prize. The Prize is awarded to an outstanding researcher conducting basic chemistry/physics/engineering research applied to food processing and improvement of food quality. Through her work in solid-water interactions Dr. Mauer has distinguished herself and her program.